Llansilin Rural District Council, records of

Scope and Content

Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant Rural District Council was established in Denbighshire under the provisions of the Local Government Act 1894. It comprised the parishes of Llanarmon Mynydd Mawr, Llangadwaladr, Llangedwyn and Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant. In 1897, the parishes of Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog (previously administered temporarily by Edeyrnion RDC) and Llansilin (from Chirk RDC) were added, and the council was renamed Llansilin Rural District Council. In 1935 the council was merged with Chirk RDC, to form the new district of Ceiriog. The council comprised councillors and a chairman, elected for three years. They originally took over responsibility for local sanitation from the local sanitary authorities and their responsibilities included sanitary services, sewerage, refuse collection, maintaining local roads, cemeteries, parks, and licensing of public entertainments, water supply and later housing. Rural District Councils were administered by a number of committees and by appointed officers including a Clerk, Treasurer, Public Health Inspector, Housing Officer and Surveyor. From 1927 the council was given rating powers, succeeding Oswestry Incorporation (Llansilin parish), Corwen Union (Llanarmon Dyffryn Ceiriog) and Llanfyllin Union (Llanarmon Mynydd Mawr, Llangadwaladr, Llangedwyn and Llanrhaeadr-yn-Mochnant).

Scope and content: Records of Llansilin Rural District Council and related bodies, 1855-1935, comprising Clerk's department records, 1895-1935, including minutes, 1895-1935, letter books, 1913-1928, correspondence and papers, 1898-1933, and correspondence files on various subjects, 1914-1935; Treasurer's department records, 1894-1935, including general ledgers, 1894-1932, receipt and payment accounts, 1914-1932, and various vouchers, 1905-1928; Surveyor's cash books, accounts, monthly reports and other records, 1879-1933; Public Health Inspector's reports and other records, 1911-1924; rating records of Corwen Union, 1897-1927; rate books, collecting and deposit books, accounts and other rating records of Llanfyllin Union, 1883-1929; rate books, collecting and deposit books, Overseers' receipt and payment accounts, statements and other rating records of Oswestry Incorporation, 1855-1930; and Llansilin RDC Rating Officer's records, 1907-1935, including rate accounts, 1929-1935, and valuation registers, 1907-1934.

(records accumulated 1894-1935)


Arranged into Clerk; Rating Officer; Treasurer; Surveyor; Public Health Inspector and miscellaneous.

Access Information

This collection is open for research. It is advisable to book in advance, for details and opening hours see http://archives.denbighshire.gov.uk/visit-us/. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Denbighshire Archive Service will advise where this is the case.