Photograph of group of pupils and staff
Cowbridge High School for Girls, Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Cowbridge Girls High School was opened in 1896 as Cowbridge Intermediate School for Girls. In 1912 the school lost its autonomy and became Cowbridge County Secondary School. It was known unofficially as Cowbridge High School and, in 1950, this became its official name. Twelve boarders were accomodated, in a hotel provided for by John Bevan of Cowbridge, until 1939.
Conditions Governing Access
Donated by Cowbridge History Society, Dec 2017
Other Finding Aids
A detailed catalogue is available online.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Compiled by Heather Mountjoy for Glamorgan Archives.
Conditions Governing Use
Normal Glamorgan Archives conditions apply.
All records which meet the collection policy of Glamorgan Archives have been retained.
Donated by David H Thomas of Oxford to Cowbridge History Society
Accruals are possible.