Most of the records on deposit date from the eighteenth to twentieth centuries, although some deeds and miscellaneous legal papers date from the sixteenth century. They provide a full and detailed record of the Society's activities, including details of its constitution, administration, financial affairs, charitable activities, properties and fishing rights.
A full series of sederunt books survive for the period 1751 - 1969. The earliest minutes, which would have covered the period 1598 - 1750, do not seem to have survived, but copies of the original charter, early acts, and inventories of papers have been entered in the eighteenth century sederunt books. Financial records cover the period 1722 - 1970. They include accounts relating to poor money, 1722 - 1817; papers relating to prime gilt, 1590 - 1781 (compiled in the eighteenth century); members' pension book, 1872 - 1936; and Cushnie Fund account book, 1835 - 1927 (the fund was established in 1801 for the fishing community of Footdee).
Records relating to the ownership and income of the Society's properties cover the period c 1738 - 1922. They include tacks, assedations and other titles, c 1738 - 1863; rentals, 1790 - 1808; and lists of feu duties compiled in 1886, 1888, 1902 and 1922. The Society also owned fishing rights on the River Don and in the coastal waters around Aberdeen, and the records created in respect of these interests are of considerable value regarding the historic development of the fishing industry in Aberdeen, and the conflicting interests which this created between local land owners and the Society. They include an inventory of 74 writs, compiled in 1776, concerning the ownership of half-nets on the Don from 1541 - 1775; and writs, resignations and dispositions concerning half-nets salmon fishing on the Don and coastal salmon fishing rights, 1630 - 1783.
A considerable volume of unsorted legal papers, c 1598 - 1885; correspondence, 1764 - 1956; and printed papers, 1782 - 1967, has also been deposited. These include papers concerning the constitution of Trinity House, Leith, 1782; reports of the Scottish District Salmon Fishery Boards, 1961 and 1967; scrapbooks of newspaper and magazine cuttings re. ships and shipping, particularly the naval history of north east Scotland, c. 1930. There are also 6 early twentieth century photographs of the Society's premises at 22 Regent Quay, Aberdeen,