Rhosymedre Parish Records

Scope and Content

The records of individual ecclesiastical parishes include registers of baptisms, marriages and burials, as well as records of the churchwardens and Parochial Church Councils, parish charities, schools, clubs and societies.

Parish records were deposited at the Clwyd Record Office, following an agreement of 1976 between the Church in Wales and the Welsh County Councils.

The new parish of Rhosymedre was formed by an Order in Council on 24 May 1844, from the township of Coed Cristionydd and part of the township of Cristionydd Cynrig, which until then had been in the parish of Ruabon.

On 28 October 1879, a portion of the parish of Rhosymedre was transferred to the new parish of Penycae. The new church, which is dedicated to St. John the Evangelist, was consecrated on 6 July 1837. A district church (or chapel of ease) to Rhosymedre was opened at Acrefair in 1894. [Information taken from http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/wal/DEN/Rhosymedre/index.html (last accessed July 2015)]

Related material-

NCD/954- Newspaper article concerning the 150th anniversary of St John the Evangelist Church, 1837 - 1937. (1897)


Arranged into two key groups; Ecclesiastical Records and Civil Records

Access Information

This collection is open for research. It is advisable to book in advance, for details and opening hours see http://archives.denbighshire.gov.uk/visit-us/. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Denbighshire Archive Service will advise where this is the case.

Geographical Names