Photograph album commemorating the opening of the new wing of Nottingham Children's Hospital, 30 April 1927

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

The album appears to be a commemorative publication rather than a personal record of the opening of the new wing. It is bound, with 'Nottingham Children's Hospital' appearing in embossed print on the front cover. The title page inside, giving the date of the official opening, is also printed.

Inside are twelve black and white photographs stuck onto separate thick card pages. None of the photographs are labelled and there is no indication of who took or published them. They show:

1. H.R.H. Princess Mary in a ward, with a nurse and an infant in a cot holding a doll

2. Main entrance and exterior view of new wing

3. Ward with beds and nurses

4. Corridor

5. Road outside hospital

6. Five beds and patients, with nurses, outside in a semi-circular area

7. Four ladies playing tennis on an outside court

8. Corridor

9. Operating theatre with patient, four medical staff, and equipment

10. Eight beds and patients, with nurses, outside on a roof terrace

11. External view of new wing

12. Ward with beds, nurses and Matron

Administrative / Biographical History

Nottingham Children's Hospital was founded as a charitable institution in 1869 by public subscription, with the aim of providing 'for the reception, maintenance and medical treatment of children of the poor under ten years of age'. Its official title was the Free Hospital for Sick Children but it was also known as 'St Lucy's', as the first nursing staff were recruited from the Sisters of St Lucy. Its first home was Russell House, Postern Street, Nottingham, a property presented by the daughter of the architect, T.C. Hine.

Despite the additions of a new wing and an isolation block, the property was soon found to be inadequate and, in 1899, the hospital moved to Forest House, Chestnut Grove, off Mansfield Road, to accommodation given by the lace manufacturer, Thomas Birkin. A new wing was opened by H.R.H. Princess Mary, Viscountess Lascelles, in 1927. In 1978, the Children's Hospital closed and its occupants became the first in-patients of University Hospital, Queen's Medical Centre. The premises occupied by the Children's Hospital became the headquarters of Nottingham Health Authority.

A copy of the history of the hospital by Lucia Crothall, Let's begin with the Children, (1978) can be found at Uhc/Pr 20.

Arrangement

No archival arrangement has been necessary.

Conditions Governing Access

Accessible to all readers.

Other Finding Aids

This description is the only finding aid available for the collection. Copyright in the description belongs to The University of Nottingham.

Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements

Good

Conditions Governing Use

Identification of copyright holders of unpublished material is often difficult.

Permission to make any published use of any material from the collection must be sought in writing from the Keeper of Manuscripts and Special Collections

Reprographic copies can be supplied for educational and private study purposes only, depending on access status and the condition of the documents.

Custodial History

The album was acquired by the Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections in 1990.

Related Material

Nottingham Children's Hospital records (Uhc)