- Memorandum and articles of association, 1921–1960;
- Certificate of incorporation, 1895;
- Amalgamation/liquidation papers, 1960–1962;
- Minutes of managing body, 1895–1964;
- Records relating to directors' meetings, 1945–1960;
- Directors' annual reports and accounts to shareholders, 1920–1960;
- Shareholding records, 1896–1960;
- Financial records, 1890–1961;
- Patents and trademarks, 1931–1958;
- Production records, 1923–1960;
- Sales records, 1900–1960;
- Staff appointment papers, 1937–1960;
- Salaries/Wages records, 1889–1961;
- Pension and life assurance scheme records, 1946–1961;
- Health and safety records, 1900–1909;
- Licensed premises records, 1898–1960;
- Property records, 1900–1957;
- Licensed premises records, 1898–1960;
- Promotional material, 1899–1962;
- Family papers, 1880;
- Photographs, 1888–1959;
- Historical notes, 1897–2001.
Records of Thomas & James Bernard Ltd, brewers, Edinburgh, Scotland
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 248 TJB
- Dates of Creation1888-2001
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description6.40 metres
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Thomas and James Bernard began brewing at the Edinburgh Brewery , North Back Canongate, Edinburgh, Scotland , in 1840 . Thomas Bernard died in 1840 and was succeeded by his two sons, Daniel and John Mackay Bernard . The original site soon became too small and a new Edinburgh Brewery was opened in Slateford Road, on the western edge of the city, in 1888 . A dispute arose between Daniel and John Mackay Bernard soon after the opening of the new brewery and in April 1889 , Daniel Bernard left the business to set up his own brewery at nearby Gorgie, Edinburgh, Scotland . In March 1895 , Thomas & James Bernard & Co Ltd was registered as a limited liability company to acquire the business. In 1960 the company was taken over by Scottish Brewers Ltd, Edinburgh, Scotland , and ceased to brew.
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Conditions Governing Access
The bulk of the collection was deposited by Scottish & Newcastle plc in 1983. Additional material was deposited by members of the Friends of the Scottish Brewing Archive.
Other Finding Aids
File level list available in searchroom.
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
None which affect the use of this material
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist.
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures.
The collection was previously stored with the rest of the Scottish Brewing Archive at Heriot–Watt University. It moved to the University of Glasgow in 1991. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
Location of Originals
This material is original
Richmond, Lesley and Turton, Alison (eds), The Brewing Industry. A Guide to Historical Records , (Manchester and New York: Manchester University Press, 1990).
McMaster, 'Charles, Men of Brewing – John Mackay Bernard', Scottish Brewing Archive Newsletter No. 9 (Summer 1987); Off the Main Road. A History of the Collace Parish , produced by The Collace Parish Millennium Committee, (2000).
Description compiled in line with the following international standards: International Council on Archives,ISAD(G) Second Edition, September 1999 and National Council on Archives,Rules for the construction of personal, place and corporate names
Scotland is the location of all place names in the administrative/biographical history element, unless otherwise stated.
Collection catalogued by Natalie Milne, Archives Assistant (Hub), 6 November 2001. Catalogue converted to Encoded Archival Description by Michelle Kaye, Archives Assistant, 8 March 2012. Collection edited by Wiebke Redlich, Archives Assistant (Hub), 4 February 2002.