Papers of Clapton Football Club (1908-1995), including: minute books,1908-1958; correspondence and reports,1958-1984; and programmes and miscellaneous papers,1938-1995.
Clapton Football Club
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 372 CFC
- Dates of Creation1908-1995
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description4 boxes
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Clapton Football Club was founded by Mr W.R. Davies. The club began in 1877 as the Downs Football Club, but was renamed as Clapton F.C. in 1878. On its foundation, the club motto was: ‘Play wet or fine, and always play the game’. At the time the Club was founded, no leagues existed and only friendly matched were played. The club originally played at a ground at Hackney Downs, three years later they moved to a pitch off Lea Bridge Road in Leyton and then on to a ground at Elm Farm. In 1888, they moved to the ‘Spotted Dog’ ground in Forest Gate, which has been the Clubs home ever since.
In 1892, Clapton, Ilford and other teams established the Southern League. However, Clapton F.C. left this league quickly as teams such as Southampton and Reading became professional. They joined the Isthmian League when it was established in 1905 and were champions in 1910-11 and 1922-23. In 1976, they were relegated to Division Two which the following season was renamed Division One. In 1982 the Club was again relegated to Division Two however, they became champions of this division the next season. Other accolades include being FA Amateur Cup winners five times, winning the Essex Senior Trophy Winners in 1989, being five times Essex Senior Cup winners and winning the West Ham Charity Cup six times.
Clapton F.C. became the first English club to visit the Continent in 1890 and played a select Belgium XI in Antwerp, winning 7-0. In 1924-25 Clapton provided three players for the English national team. The Club has also been recognised by the F.A. for hosting the first floodlit amateur match in 1956.
Today Clapton F.C, also know as ‘The Tons’, play in the Essex Senior League.
No further arrangement required.
Deposited to Bishopsgate Institute by Michael Fogg via Chris Tymkow 1 September 2016.
Other Finding Aids
Entry compiled by Grace Biggins.
Conditions Governing Use
Photocopying and digital photography (without flash) is permitted for research purposes on completion of the Library's Copyright Declaration form and with respect to current UK copyright law.