CHURCH REPORT: St. Cyngar, Llangefni.
Church Report: St. Cyngar, Llangefni
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The original cell or church was founded on the site during the Sixteenth Century by St. Cyngar, who was both an Abbott and a Confessor.
A few pieces of the of an older church have survived: a 12th Century font and a 15th Century doorway, but by the 1760s the building generally was in such a poor condition that it was obvious a new one must be built. In the summer of 1824 the new church was completed, although in 1889 it was extended by the addition of a chancel and sanctuary, slightly elevated from the nave. The present church (a grade 2 listed building) still serves its local community and is a popular venue for weddings and christenings.
Dim cyfyngiadau/ No Restrictions
Adnau preifat / Private deposit.
Os gwelwch yn dda archebwch y dogfenau gan ddefnyddio y rhif cyfeirnod amgen (lle ddarperidd) / Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided)
Other Finding Aids
Mae copiau clawr caled o`r catalogau ar gael yn Archifau Ynys Môn ac yn y Gofrestr Cenedlaethol Archifau. Polisi Archifau Ynys Môn yw catalogio yn iaith y ddogfen./Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives and the National Register of Archives. It is the policy of Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives to catalogue in the language of the document.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Cyflwr da /Good condition
Compiled by Hayden Burns for Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives.
Mae'r holl gofnodiadau sy'n cydymffurfio â pholisi casglu Swyddfa Gofnodi Cyngor Sir Ynys Môn wedi eu cadw /All records which meet the collection policy of the Anglesey Archives have been retained.
Ni ddisgwylir croniadau/Accruals are not expected