Marown Parish Commissioners: Special Minutes

Scope and Content

Minutes recording Marown Parish Commissioners' planning for events to celebrate:

  • Queen Elizabeth II Silver Jubilee in 23 May 1977
  • Tynwald Millennium 19 May 1979

With rough notes at the end of the volume.

Administrative / Biographical History

Marown Parish Commissioners was established in 1894 by the Local Government Amendment Act.

Marown Parish is one of the fifteen parish districts of the Isle of Man. Each parish district is governed by its own local authority. In Marown this is the Marown Parish Commissioners. The Commissioners are elected by the residents of the Parish to administer a range of local government functions and, whenever possible, to act as the voice of the Parish by bringing local issues and views to the attention of central government and other outside parties. These functions include:

  • Public information and advice
  • Tourism
  • Refuse collection
  • Street-lighting
  • Environmental health
  • Public conveniences
  • Parks, playgrounds and other leisure facilities
  • Control of dogs
  • Housing
  • Car-parking
  • Street-cleaning
  • Building control
  • Planning
  • Sewerage
  • Libraries and museums
  • Abandoned vehicles

The Commissioners hold monthly public meetings, to take decisions on cases relating to the above functions.

The minutes in this series were probably written by the Clerk to Marown Parish Commissioners.

Access Information


For information on visiting the Isle of Man Public Record Office please see our website:

Other Finding Aids

Please see our website for catalogues:

Archivist's Note

Katherine Doyle March 2015