Papers of the Leeds White Cloth Hall

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Comprises papers, consisting mainly of legal documents and correspondence, relating to the White Cloth Halls in Leeds

Administrative / Biographical History

The first hall for the sale of white cloth in Leeds was financed by merchants and tradesmen and erected in Kirkgate, Leeds, opening in April 1711. Business flourished, and in 1755 a new hall was built, financed by subscriptions from clothiers, and occupying a site on a strip of land between Hunslet Lane and Meadow Lane. By the mid-1770s this hall also had become too small. Merchants seeking to keep the cloth market centralised in Leeds initiated the building of a third White Cloth Hall which opened in October 1775. A fourth hall was established in the 1860s.

Conditions Governing Access

Access is unrestricted

Acquisition Information

Received through Mr R. Armstrong and Mr F. R. A. Armstrong, 1951

Note

In English

Other Finding Aids

Contents listed in Handlist 2 and 2A (index), and in Patricia Hudson, The West Riding Wool Textile Industry: A Catalogue of Business Records from the Sixteenth to the Twentieth Century (1975), pp.484-517

Related Material

See also MS 449 and Handlist 43

Corporate Names