Libanus Chapel, Cwmbwrla, records, 1870-2000, including minutes, 1870-2000; financial records, 1893-1971; programmes and hymn books, 1941-1983; correspondence, 1906-1980; miscellaneous, 1905-1949.
Libanus Chapel, Cwmbwrla, Swansea, Records
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
In 1863 a Sunday School was established in a private house in Caebricks, by members of Bethesda, Swansea, and in 1866, a congregation was formed. Libanus Chapel, Cwmbwrla, Swansea, was opened in 1867. A new chapel was built adjoining the old in 1906. After a decline in membership the chapel was closed in 2000.
Arranged into two groups: Group one consists of minutes, financial records, programmes and hymn books for Cymanfaoedd Ganu (singing festivals), church history and church building; Group two consists of financial records, correspondence and miscellaneous.
Conditions Governing Access
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Nonconformist, Welsh Baptist, Libanus Chapel, Cwmbwrla, Swansea, catalogue.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained.
Accruals are possible