This collection comprises three large customer ledgers covering the years 1804-1823, 1816-1851 and 1903-1919.
Records of Oldfield Wine Merchants
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Oldfield's Wine Merchants was established in 1664. The firm appears in the earliest published York Trades Directory in 1781.
The Oldfield family had a long-standing history in providing the people of York with alcoholic refreshment. Christopher Oldfield, the father of the Joshua Oldfield who ran the business in 1781, gained his freedom in 1731/1732 as an innholder and later became a wine merchant.
In 1781, Oldfield's Wine Merchants was located at 1 Lendal, which was also the post office. Joshua Oldfield, the proprietor of the firm from c.1781 to 1830, held the position of Post Master as well as trading as a wine merchant.
Joshua was followed into the wine trade by his sons, William and Thomas. William, who ran the business from 1830 to 1858, also held the dual role of Post Master and wine merchant.
After William, the business was run by his sons Joshua and George Oldifeld from 1858. In 1902, the firm officially became 'J & G. Oldfield Ltd'.
The business remained at 1 Lendal until around 1949 before relocating to 3 St Sampson's Square, where it continued to trade in wine and spirits until 1970.
Conditions Governing Access
Material is available subject to the usual terms and conditions of access to Archives and Local History collections.
Other Finding Aids
More detailed finding aids for this collection can be found online by searching the Explore website ( www.exploreyork.org.uk)
Compiled by Francesca Taylor, Community Collections Assistant, April 2015.
Conditions Governing Use
Images are supplied for private research only at the Archivist's discretion. Please note that material may be unsuitable for copying on conservation grounds. Researchers who wish to publish material must seek copyright permission from the copyright owner.