The school was opened in Middle Barton in 1866 as a voluntary school built by the gift of AW Hall, owner of Barton Abbey Estate. When it opened there were 145 pupils but by 1868 around 55 pupil's parents could not afford to contribute towards their education. The school began to receive a government grant in 1867 and in 1923 it was handed over to the Local Education Authority. By 1920 the number of pupils attending was recorded as 98. Following reorganisation in 1923 it became a school for juniors only and the senior children went to Steeple Aston School. In 1979 there were 153 pupils and secondary pupils attended Chipping Norton School. The school is now known as Middle Barton Primary School. Please see S252/1 for other records of this school.
STEEPLE BARTON SCHOOL
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 160 CC4/14
- Dates of Creation1904-1933