Combe school was built in 1843 at the expense of the widow of Edward Tatham, former rector of Lincoln College, the site of the new school being given by Lincoln College, patron of the church. The school was managed by a group of parishioners, chaired, as shown by the minute books, by the rector or bursar of Lincoln College. It was supported by private subscriptions and donations. In 1872, when the log books start, the school was attended by 33 boys, 16 girls and 23 infants, each paying 2s. In 1873 a first additional parliamentary grant was received. In 1928 the school became a junior school, older children going to Church Hanborough and from 1940 to a Woodstock secondary school. It became a controlled Church of England school in 1952. Please see S71/1 for other records of this school.
LONG COMBE CHURCH OF ENGLAND SCHOOL
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 160 CC4/141
- Dates of Creation1903-1934