The South Oxfordshire Technical College was founded in 1873 as the Henley-on-Thames School of Science and Art and from the turn of the Century until 1959 was known as Henley Technical Institute and was located on Greys Road next to the Infants School (see S128/11 for records of this school).. In 1948 it was transferred to the responsibility of the Oxfordshire County Council and in 1953 the first full time principal was appointed. In 1960-1962 the college was renamed South Oxfordshire Technical College and acquired the former Secondary Modern School premises on Gravel Hill (please see S128/12 for plans of this school). The school extended on this site which became known as the Deanfield site. In 1987 South Oxfordshire Technical College and King James' College (please see S128/5 for records of this school) were amalgamated to form Henley College (please see S128/7 for records of this school). Please see S128/6 for other records of this school.
HENLEY TECHNICAL INSTITUTE
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 160 CC4/246
- Dates of Creation1912