Stanton St John School was founded using money accumulated from Dame Elizabeth Holford's charity, who died in 1711. In 1874 a new school was built with money from the bequest. In 1895 120 children were being taught. In 1952 79 pupils attended the primary school, by 1979 only 36 (24 Juniors and 12 Infants). From September 1982 Beckley and Stanton St.John Primary Schools were amalgamated; the Infants' School at Stanton was closed in 1984 and the children moved to Beckley. The building continued to be used as a playgroup. Please see S250/1 for other records of this school.
STANTON ST JOHN CHURCH OF ENGLAND SCHOOL
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 160 CC4/194
- Dates of Creation1903-