The Thame Royal British School renamed in 1907 the John Hampden School, was built in 1837 on land purchased from Sarah Richmond in Brick-kiln Lane. Additional classrooms were added in 1852 and 1913, and an infants' class was started in 1869. The school became a junior and infants' school in 1929, the seniors being transferred to the Church of England school. In 1947 it ceased to be a voluntary school and was taken over by the County Council. Please see S273/1 for other records of this school.
THAME, JOHN HAMPDEN BRITISH SCHOOL
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 160 CC4/212
- Dates of Creation1903-1936