Records of Moel Fferna Slate Quarry, 1876-1939, comprising registers of male young persons, 1876-1948; list of persons, 1889-1897; and reports of state of workings, 1903-1939.
Moel Fferna Slate Quarry, Glyndyfrdwy, Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 220 Z/M/990
- Dates of Creation1876-1948
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical DescriptionNot provided
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Moel Fferna slate quarry, an underground working mine, was opened in the 1860s, in Glyndyfrdwy, Merionethshire. It closed in 1960. It is not clear by which company it was operated.
Arranged into the following: registers; lists; and reports.
Conditions Governing Access
Compiled by Seri Crawley for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Meirionnydd Archives, Miscellaneous Collection (Dolgellau), Moel Fferna Slate Quarry, Glyndyfrdwy Records; Richards, Alun John, Slate quarrying in Wales (Llanrwst, 1995); Richards, Alun John, A Gazetteer of the Welsh Slate Industry (Llanrwst, 1991).
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Meirionnydd Archives, the National Register of Archives and the National Library of Wales. The catalogue is available online.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright laws apply.
All records deposited at Meirionnydd Archives have been retained.
The records came into the possession of P. J. Appleton, Esq., Pentre, Wrexham.
Accruals are not expected.