Henllan Board School, Records of

Scope and Content

Also known as Henllan National School prior to 1876 and Village Council School from 1904. Currently known as Ysgol Henllan.

Present school building opened in 1901 but there had been a school before on nearby Ochr y Bryn which had been the village school since 1826. Before that there had been a Dame School on School Street. Current school building, used from 1901/4? Designed by James Hughes, a Denbigh architect.

Henllan school opened as a junior mixed and infants school with 109 on the register in 1871 and in 1875 the Infants were taken as a separate department.

There is a reference to a Welsh scheme of work being introduced to the Infant school in 1907 with lessons in 2 languages (page 91 Log book ED/LB/38/5 and then on page 113 an inspection report praising the Head teacher's high quality instruction in Welsh). The Infant department ceased to be a separate department in March 1911 and came again under the authority of the Head teacher of the Junior mixed school.

In April 1911 the new Head Teacher was Owen Trevor Jones - becoming the Head Teacher of both Infants and Junior Mixed Departments.

NB. Log Book ED/LB/38/5 Infants 1903- 1932 actually has the Infant Department alone recorded only up to 1911 - then the department became the responsibility of the Head Teacher of the Junior Mixed Department - Page 164. The log book was now used by the whole school but the entries do not start until September 1919.

Log Book ED/LB/38/2 has recorded Junior Department from 1901 - 1919 so it is assumed includes the Infant department from 1911-1919

Log Book ED/LB/38/5 Page 167 reference to Juniors being given bilingual methods of instruction by the Head Teacher

Log Book ED/LB/38/4 1932-1952 - entry 1934 an interesting time for the school as pupils could witness the erection of poles for electric power for the village.

On 31st December 1938 the Head Teacher O Trevor Jones retired after 28 years at the school and from March 1939 the new Head Teacher was Ivor Jones.

Plans CD/A/4/187 1979-1980 show the intended construction of indoor toilets and a kitchen/dining room for the school.

Location-

Street name- Denbigh Street, Henllan, LL16 5AW

Related material-

CD/A/4/77-Design for new school at Henllan, 1899

CD/A/4/187- Plans for Henllan CP school, 1979-1980

PPD/38/12-13- Henllan School Group c. 1901

PPD/38/18-19- Henllan School photograph, c.1895-1901

Secondary material-

'Henllan Village Memories Of 60 Years Ago And More', Jim Buchanan, January 2005

Arrangement

School records are arranged as follows;

1. Log books

2. Admission registers

3. Attendance registers

4. Managers minutes

5. Accounts

6. Plans

7. Photographs

8. Miscellaneous

Conditions Governing Access

All school records containing personal or sensitive information are closed for 75 years. This includes log books, admission and attendance registers and some minute books.

Geographical Names