Parish records of Bishop Wilton

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1613-1944 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1777-1786); register of marriages, 1613-1973; register of burials, 1613-1866 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1777-1812, ages only from 1793; register of banns, 1833-1927; register of services, 1905-1973; records concerning benefice income, including glebe papers, 1787-1827, and correspondence and papers, 1750, 1798; charity records, including accounts, 1707-1713, 1722, list of lands, 1727, deed, 1929, and notes, 19th century; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1772-1867, 1940-1964, and fabric papers, 1632-1633, 1649, 1654, 1787-1824, 1859, 1927-1929, 1935; records of incumbents, including grant of advowson, 1873, memos on parsonage house, 1787-1824, and deed and mortgage for vicarage house, 1905-1906, 1936; overseers’ records, including accounts, 1887-1907, and survey of parish landholders and acreage, 1827; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1920-1964, 1975-1990, accounts, 1933-2000, enclosure awards for Bishop Wilton, 1726, 1772, enclosure award for Gowthorpe, 1814, magazines, 1968, 1971, ruridecanal magazines, 1914, 1916-1917, Industrial Christian Fellowship magazines, 1956-1959, and parish maps, 1949.

Administrative / Biographical History

The church of St Edith at Bishop Wilton was first recorded in Domesday in the eleventh century and probably owes its dedication to Ealdred, Archbishop of York from 1061 and previously Bishop of Wiltshire, the county of Edith’s birth and the site of Wilton Abbey where she later took Holy Orders.

The church was appropriated to the Prebendary of Wilton in 1241, and a vicarage ordained therein in 1311. The Prebendary was assigned to the Treasurer of York who held peculiar jurisdiction over Bishop Wilton, Alne and Tollerton and Acomb until the office was dissolved in 1547. The parish was subsequently subject to the jurisdiction of the Peculiar Court of Bishop Wilton within the dissolved Treasurership until 1836.

The parish historically included the townships of Bolton, Besthorpe, Golthorpe and Youlthorpe, as well as Bishop Wilton. It was augmented in 1756, 1787, 1795 and 1797 through Queen Anne’s Bounty, and again in 1823 by parliamentary grant. St Edith’s Church was restored by John Loughborough Pearson in 1858-1859 at the expense of Sir Tatton Sykes of Sledmere Hall (whose family held the advowson for most of the nineteenth century).

In 1873 the advowson was transferred by the Sykes family to the Dean and Chapter of York.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1977 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1982 and 2011.

Note

The church of St Edith at Bishop Wilton was first recorded in Domesday in the eleventh century and probably owes its dedication to Ealdred, Archbishop of York from 1061 and previously Bishop of Wiltshire, the county of Edith’s birth and the site of Wilton Abbey where she later took Holy Orders.

The church was appropriated to the Prebendary of Wilton in 1241, and a vicarage ordained therein in 1311. The Prebendary was assigned to the Treasurer of York who held peculiar jurisdiction over Bishop Wilton, Alne and Tollerton and Acomb until the office was dissolved in 1547. The parish was subsequently subject to the jurisdiction of the Peculiar Court of Bishop Wilton within the dissolved Treasurership until 1836.

The parish historically included the townships of Bolton, Besthorpe, Golthorpe and Youlthorpe, as well as Bishop Wilton. It was augmented in 1756, 1787, 1795 and 1797 through Queen Anne’s Bounty, and again in 1823 by parliamentary grant. St Edith’s Church was restored by John Loughborough Pearson in 1858-1859 at the expense of Sir Tatton Sykes of Sledmere Hall (whose family held the advowson for most of the nineteenth century).

In 1873 the advowson was transferred by the Sykes family to the Dean and Chapter of York.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2011.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1613-1944, marriages, 1613-1973, burials, 1613-1866, and banns, 1833-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 643, 1593, 1752, 1760).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 22.12.15.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

The papers of the Sykes family of Sledmere are held by Hull University and include deeds and other papers relating to Bishop Wilton, 1379-1917.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193