Lease

  • This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 133 EGR14/5/4/1
  • Dates of Creation
      25 Dec 1754
  • Physical Description
      Medium: parchment. Condition: minor decay due to dampness.

Scope and Content

Lessee: Samuel Collier of Carrington yeo.

Property: a capital messuage or mansion house in Carrington called Carrington Hall, now in the possession of Collier, and all demesne lands in Carrington thereto belonging called the Hemp Croft, the Bank Croft, the Nans Croft, the Hall Croft, the Pasture Gosome, the Meadow Gosome, the Trealy, the Dunge Croft, the Intack, the Marl Hey, the Chappers, the Old Dam, the Lower Dam Field, the Big Dam Field, the Little Dam Field, the Higher and Lower School Fields, the Great and Little Moss Fields, the Great and Little Booth Heys, the Long Ely, the Short Ely, the Great and Little Wheat Eyes, the Rough Field, the Coney Grave, the Harding, the Debtear, the Ecclesmear, the Nearer and Further Oultons, the Overhill, the Shaw Wood, and the Winstanley (130 a.), and 2 moss rooms; also the tithes within the township of Carrington.

Term: 21 years.

Rent: £300, payable on 25 March and 11 November; also £5 for every acre above 30 acres ploughed in any year during the term.

Clauses: lessee is to keep in good repair the glass windows and all hedges, ditches and drains; lessee is to grind all his grain at the mills of Lord Warrington; lessee is to provide straw for thatching; husbandry clauses re ploughing and sowing; lessee is not to fell or damage timber trees.