The series contains papers relating to brickyards which operated in Carrington and at Seamon's Moss in the hamlet of Oldfield within Dunham Massey township during the 1870s. The brickyards were apparently owned by the Stamford Estates.
There are four items in the series: an account book recording sales of bricks from Carrington brickyard, 1877-1879 (EGR14/74/1); and three bundles of vouchers for Carrington and Oldfield brickyards, containing accounts for bricks delivered from the brickyards and for expenditure on wages and on coal supplied by the Bridgewater Canal, 1878 & 1879 (EGR14/74/2-4).
[Among a bundle of papers relating to tenancy matters is a notebook containing accounts for bricks delivered from Oldfield brickyard, 1877-1878 (EGR14/11/8/7). There is also a bundle of papers relating to the tenancy of Oldfield brickyard by James Holt and his brothers, 1905-1907 (EGR14/15/36).]