The bundle contains papers relating to the nomination in 1776 of Rev James Wardleworth, then curate at Titchmarsh co. Northants, to the living of the new chapel at Stayley by George Harry Grey (1737-1819), 5th Earl of Stamford (EGR4/1/9/2/1-4). There is also correspondence relating to Wardleworth's departure from Stayley in 1779, after the collapse of the chapel's structure and unity, and his refusal to return (/5-11).
The old township name, Stayley, was gradually superseded by the name of the small hamlet of Stalybridge, which grew to encompass most of the township in the early years of the nineteenth century. In the records the two names are used interchangeably, though Stalybridge predominates in later documents. For consistency the form Stayley is here used throughout.
[St George's Chapel, Cocker Hill, Stalybridge, was erected in 1776, but collapsed on 15 May 1778. The second building was closed as being unsafe for public worship, about Christmas 1882. A new church was opened on 21 March 1888: see Samuel Hill, Bygone Stalybridge (Stalybridge: privately printed, 1907), p. 102.]