The rectory of Bowdon was held on lease for lives by the Booth family and later the Earls of Stamford from 1589 until the late nineteenth century. The last lease was granted by the Bishop of Chester in 1847, and terminated on the death of the last surviving life, Rev George Heron, in 1894.
The series consists of two bundles of papers which relate to the lease of the rectorial glebe. There is a large volume of material relating to an exchange of lands which took place between the Earl of Stamford and the Bishop of Chester in 1865 whereby the former gave up some of his freehold estates in Bowdon, amounting to 194 acres, in exchange for other lands which belonging to the rectorial glebe, comprising 134 acres. To facilitate the transaction there was a smaller exchange of lands between Lord Stamford and the vicar of Bowdon. The exchanges consolidated the Earl's freehold estates and promoted their development, the new property being prime building land. Roads and services were laid out and the land was divided into building plots for sale on chief rent.
The bundles contain further correspondence and accounts relating to the payment of tithe rent charges in Bowdon parish during the lease to the Earl of Stamford and later the Stamford Trustees. There are also numerous letters, notes and schedules relating to the termination of the lease of the rectory in 1894 and the negotiations between the agents of the Stamford Trustees on the one side, and the Ecclesiastical Commissioners and their surveyors, Messrs Smiths, Gore & Co., on the other, over such issues as improvements made to the estate during the lease, the Trustees' liability for dilapidations, and claims for brick-rents received by the Trustees.
[Further papers relating to the rectory of Bowdon and to Bowdon parish church are to be found in subfonds EGR10. See also the leases for years of tenements on Bowdon glebe and of tithes in Bowdon parish (EGR14/5/7-8 above), and the copy tithe apportionment books (EGR14/73 below).]