When a purchaser had successfully tendered for a plot of land or building ground which was to be sold on chief rent (see EGR14/12 above), a draft conveyance was drawn up. Except for the very earliest examples, the draft conveyances were pre-printed, with spaces left for particulars to be entered by hand. The drafts contain standard conditions and clauses, which might be amended or omitted according to the requirements of the particular conveyance. The format and wording of the draft conveyances were revised periodically, particularly in 1883 when the estate became vested in the trustees under the will of the 7th Earl of Stamford. The drafts are also annotated with process notes, for instance instructions for the engrossment of the original conveyances. From 1858 the draft conveyances were issued by the Stamford Estate Office in Ashton under Lyne co. Lancs. The draft conveyances end in 1905, although parcels of land continued to be sold on chief rent during the twentieth century. The original conveyances have been retained at the Stamford Estate Office in Altrincham.
The draft conveyances record the name, place of abode and occupation or status of the purchaser, and state the dimensions and boundaries of the parcel of land to be conveyed, and the annual chief rent payable on the property, with provisions for redress in the event of non-payment.
Building covenants in the conveyances required the purchaser to fence the property and within twelve calendar months to build and complete a certain number of dwelling-houses "of new and sound materials in a workmanlike manner", according to plans previously approved by the agent of Lord Stamford or the Stamford Trustees. The dwelling-houses were to be built of brick or stone or both, faced on all sides with stone or white bricks or other approved materials set in good lime mortar, with oak or Baltic deal or other equally good and durable timber or iron for the roofs, beams and joists, with suitable offices and outbuildings similarly faced. No dwelling-house, office or outbuilding was to be erected at any time without the approval of the Earl of Stamford or the Stamford Trustees. The maximum number of houses to be erected on the land and the minimum yearly letting value of any house were stipulated. The purchaser was required to keep every house and other building in good and tenantable repair, and to fully insure the properties against loss or damage from fire, and in the event of damage by fire to rebuild the properties within twelve months. Other standard clauses required purchasers to make and repair roads and sewers, and to perform suit and service at the manorial courts, and prohibited the use of the premises for any trade or business without written consent, the cutting down of trees, and the committing of nuisances.
Attached to, or enclosed within, many draft conveyances are plans of the properties, chief rent tenders which incorporate plans, correspondence and other papers. [For plans of other building grounds see the tenders and contracts for sale (EGR14/12 above).]
Draft conveyances survive for the following townships in Bowdon parish: Altrincham (EGR14/13/1, 470 items); Bollington (EGR14/13/2, 5 items); Bowdon (EGR14/13/3, 161 items); Carrington (EGR14/13/4, 8 items); Dunham Massey (EGR14/13/5, 188 items); Hale (EGR14/13/6, 128 items); Oldfield (EGR14/13/7, 1 item); and Timperley (EGR14/13/8, 1 item).