The records of the court baron for the manor of Carrington consist of three series of material: verdicts, 1624-1840 (EGR2/3/1), suit rolls, 1741-1854 (EGR2/3/2), and estreats, 1759-1849 (EGR2/3/3).
Court Baron for the Manor of Carrington
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 133 EGR2/3
- Dates of Creation1624-1854
- Physical Description3 series.
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The manor of Carrington was held by the Carrington family from the lords of Dunham Massey, until it passed to the Booth family by the marriage of Jane, only daughter and heiress of John Carrington esq, to George Booth (1566-1652) in 1577/8 (see EGR1/2). Carrington fell within the jurisdiction of the court leet held for the barony of Dunham Massey, and a separate court baron was held for the manor. Tenants of the Earls of Stamford in part of Partington also owed suit of court at the court baron (Ormerod, vol. 1, pp. 542-4).
In the period from 1681 until 1760 the court appears to have met once a year, in early December, though additional sessions were held occasionally. From 1762 onwards the court met twice yearly, in August and December, although the dates were gradually brought forward so that by the 1830s the sessions were held in late April or early May and late September or early October. The court appears to have met at public houses in Carrington, at least from 1739 onwards when the premises at which the sessions were held are recorded. The court met at the houses of the following victuallers: George Barlow (1739, 1742-7, 1754-6, 1758 & 1760), Thomas Moors (1762), William Burgess (1752, 1757, 1759, 1761-77), Ellen Burgess (1778-90), John Abbott (1791-2), William Robinson (1793-1805), Edward and Alice Greenough (1805-9), George Millatt (1809-25), Alice Millatt (1825-6), and Henry Daine (1826-40). William Robinson and Edward Greenough are known to have been tenants of the Windmill public house in Carrington. The names of the stewards of the court are recorded in the introduction to EGR2 above.
The business of the court largely consisted of orders or presentments made by the jury for the repair of hedges, fences, gates and stiles, the cropping of trees, the upkeep of roads, cart lanes and footpaths, the scouring of ditches and watercourses, the repair of houses and farm buildings, and the removal of encroachments onto highways and commons. One of the principal concerns of the court was the upkeep and repair of field banks along the course of the River Mersey, in order to prevent or control flooding. The amount of business transacted at the court baron remained fairly constant throughout the late seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, but declined somewhat during the nineteenth century. However, as late as 1840 it still concerned itself with the repair of lanes, banks, hedges and ditches.