The series contains items relating to the alterations made to Dunham Massey Hall in the 1820s and 1830s, under the aegis of George Harry Grey (1765-1845), 6th Earl of Stamford. In 1822 the London architect John Shaw was commissioned to design the Dining Room, now the Green Saloon, and a glazed corridor was built across the Courtyard (the latter was removed during the Edwardian restoration of the Hall). In addition the Hall was extensively redecorated. The series consists of the house steward's account book for expenses incurred in the alterations, 1821-3 and 1830 (EGR7/19/1), a bundle of schedules of alterations, 1821-34 (EGR7/19/2), two wages books for labourers and craftsmen employed in the renovation, 1822 (EGR7/19/3-4), a bundle of miscellaneous papers relating to the Hall and gardens, 1800-38 (EGR7/19/5), and two plans of the Dining Room, undated (EGR7/19/6-7).
Papers relating to Alterations at Dunham Massey Hall
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 133 EGR7/19
- Dates of Creation1821-1838
- Physical Description7 pieces.
Scope and Content
All pieces except EGR7/19/6-7 were received from Dunham Massey Hall on 12 September 1978.