Nothing has survived of the firm's early commercial records except some advertising literature from c.1832. The bulk of the collection consists of thirty volumes of accounts and customer order books 1907-1955. There are also fifteen deeds, 1632-1819, relating to the two houses in Bridlesmith Gate which became the site of the shop.
Records of R. and F.E. Lamb Ltd, Outfitters, Nottingham, 1632-1955
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 159 Lb
- Dates of Creation1632-1955
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description1 box
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The firm of R. and F.E. Lamb Ltd, specialising in tailor-made shirts, was founded in the 1820s in Market Place, Nottingham. It opened an outfitters shop in Bridlesmith Gate in the 1920s, where it remained based until its closure in 1964.
The records are divided according to type (e.g. order books, purchase ledgers) and arranged chronologically within sections.
ACCESS: Accessible to all registered readers.
REPROGRAPHIC: Photocopies and photographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposes only, depending on the condition of the documents.
Other Finding Aids
NOTE: Copyright on all Finding Aids belongs to the University of Nottingham.
- In the Reading Room, University of Nottingham Library: Typescript Catalogue, 5 pp
- At the National Register of Archives, London: Typescript Catalogue, 5 pp
Conditions Governing Use
COPYRIGHT: Identification of copyright holders of unpublished material is often difficult. Permission to make any published use of any material from the collection must be sought in advance in writing from the Keeper of the Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections (email firstname.lastname@example.org ). The Department will try to assist in identifying copyright owners but the responsibility for copyright clearance before publication ultimately rests with the reader.
The records were given to the University Library after the firm's closure in 1964.