- Corporate records, 1900-1967;
- Shareholding records, 1964;
- Financial records, 1961-1963;
- Production records, 1921;
- Staff records, 1947;
- Licensed premises records, 1960;
- Property, 1766-1965;
- Promotional material, 1855-1960;
- Public relations, 1940;
- Photographs, 1930s-1940s;
- Historical notes, 1879-1983.
Records of James Aitken & Co (Falkirk) Ltd, brewers, Falkirk, Scotland
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
James Aitken & Co (Falkirk) Ltd was registered as a limited liability company in June 1900 to acquire the business of the same name, established in Falkirk, Scotland in 1740 by James Aitken. Its trading address was The Brewery, 17 Lint Riggs, Falkirk. The company acquired the North Port Brewery, Brechin, Scotland, in 1910 (closed 1914); the Rothbury Brewery, Rothbury, England, in 1911 ; and the business of T Y Patterson, Craigmillar, Edinburgh, Scotland, in 1936.
The company exported world-wide and had offices in Glasgow, Scotland, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England, and Richmond, England. It operated the Mains Maltings, Linlithgow, Scotland, built in 1875. It was acquired in September 1960 by Northern Breweries of Great Britain Ltd, York, England, later United Breweries Ltd, which merged with Charrington & Co Ltd, London, England, in 1962 through a holding company, Charrington United Breweries Ltd, London. The Falkirk brewery closed in 1966.
Source: Richmond, Lesley and Turton, Alison (eds.) "The brewing industry. A guide to historical records" (Manchester and New York: Manchester University Press, 1990)
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Access to records within this collection is open, however an appointment may be required. Please email Archives and Special Collections for advice: firstname.lastname@example.org
The majority is from Tennent Caledonian Breweries Ltd
Other Finding Aids
See also University of Glasgow Collections
File level list available in searchroom
Alternative Form Available
No known copies of this material
Conditions Governing Use
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents. Applications for permission to quote should be sent to Archives and Special Collections, please email: email@example.com
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 248 procedures
The collection was previously stored with the rest of the Scottish Brewing Archive at Heriot-Watt University. It moved to the University of Glasgow in 1991. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
Location of Originals
This material is original