- Corporate records 1900-1967;
- Shareholding records 1964;
- Financial records 1961-1963;
- Production records 1921;
- Staff records 1947;
- Licensed premises records 1960;
- Property 1766-1965;
- Promotional material 1855-1960;
- Public relations 1940;
- Photographs 1930s-1940s;
- Historical notes 1879-1983.
Records of James Aitken & Co (Falkirk) Ltd, brewers, Falkirk, Scotland
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 248 AIT
- Dates of Creation1766-1966
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.80 metresThere are no physical characteristics that affect the use of this material
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
James Aitken & Co (Falkirk) Ltd was registered as a limited liability company in June 1900 to acquire the business of the same name, established in Falkirk, Scotland in 1740 by James Aitken. Its trading address was The Brewery, 17 Lint Riggs, Falkirk. The company acquired the North Port Brewery , Brechin, Scotland , in 1910 (closed 1914 ); the Rothbury Brewery , Rothbury, England , in 1911 ; and the business of T Y Patterson , Craigmillar, Edinburgh, Scotland , in 1936 .
The company exported world-wide and had offices in Glasgow, Scotland , Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England , and Richmond, England . It operated the Mains Maltings , Linlithgow, Scotland , built in 1875 . It was acquired in September 1960 by Northern Breweries of Great Britain Ltd , York, England , later United Breweries Ltd , which merged with Charrington & Co Ltd , London, England , in 1962 through a holding company, Charrington United Breweries Ltd , London. The Falkirk brewery closed in 1966 .
Source: Richmond, Lesley and Turton, Alison (eds.) The brewing industry. A guide to historical records ( Manchester and New York: Manchester University Press, 1990 )
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Conditions Governing Access
Private records deposited by the owners
The majority is from Tennent Caledonian Breweries Ltd
Other Finding Aids
File level list available in searchroom
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Archivist
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use & condition of documents
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures
The collection was previously stored with the rest of the Scottish Brewing Archive at Heriot-Watt University. It moved to the University of Glasgow in 1991. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
Richmond, Lesley and Turton, Alison (eds.) The brewing industry. A guide to historical records ( Manchester and New York: Manchester University Press, 1990 )
This material is original
Fonds level description compiled by Amanda Jackson, Scottish Brewing Archive Assistant, 2 December 1999. Catalogue converted to Encoded Archival Description, 8 June 2005. Catalogue edited by Natalie Milne, Archives Assistant (Hub), 19 December 2001; Wiebke Redlich, Archives Assistant (Hub), 06 June 2002; Emma Yan, Assistant Archivist, 28 November 2008; and Michelle Kaye, Archives Assistant, 04 May 2012.