Minutes, 1843-1871; Session minutes, 1843-1857 and 1871-1909; Deacon's Court minutes, 1844-1901; Communion roll, 1857-1900; Baptismal roll, 1843-1847; Plans, 1888-1936.
Records of Anstruther Free Church
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 227 CH3/1560
- Dates of Creation1843-1936
- Name of Creator
- Physical Description10 items
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
In 1843, at the time of the Disruption, the minister of Anstruther Easter adhered to the Free Church and established the congregation of Anstruther Free Church. A church to house the congregation was opened in 1844 and later replaced by a new building erected in 1858, which in turn was also superseded by a new construction in 1891. At the 1900 union of the Free Church and the United Presbyterians, Anstruther Free Church, which sat within the Presbytery of St Andrews, became Anstruther Chalmers Memorial, United Free Church.
Sources: John Alexander Lamb, The Fasti of the United Free Church of Scotland 1900-1929 (Edinburgh, 1956); W. Ewing, Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843-1900 (Edinburgh, 1914), Vol II.
Conditions Governing Access
By appointment with the Archivist. Access to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containing confidential information may be restricted. Special conditions apply to photographs.
Held under charge and superintendence of the Keeper of Records for Scotland.
Description compiled by Rachel Hart, Archives Hub Project, based on description created by Lesley Doig and modified by Alan Borthwick, Scottish Archive Network project.
Other Finding Aids
Typescript catalogue available in St Andrews University Library Department of Special Collections and in National Archives of Scotland search rooms.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.