Parish records of York, St Paul

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1851-2004; register of marriages, 1856-2016; register of banns, 1934-1939, 1948-2014; register of services, 1885-2005; register of confirmations, 1902-1952; records concerning benefice income, including tithe accounts, 1858-1861, 1863, 1887, 1898-1902, 1905, 1918-1919, tithe papers, 1861-1920, endowments, correspondence and papers, 1855-1943, and sequestration accounts, 1923; charity records, including correspondence and papers, 1880-1941; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1851-1871, fabric papers, 1855-1962, and pew rents, 1851-1872; records relating to incumbents, including historical notes on parish and church, 1893, 1907, dilapidations papers, 1897-1964, and parsonage house papers, 1867, 1869; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including tenancy agreements for parish room, 1945-1957; school records, including correspondence and papers, 1868-1893, 1939; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1912-1922, 1939-1960, 1983-1994, accounts, 1886, 1897, 1924-1926, papers relating to formation of parish, 1855-1856, 1924, 1940, papers relating to new parish of St Barnabas, 1891-1904; photographs of six former rectors, n.d.

Administrative / Biographical History

The parish of York, St Paul was originally part of the parish of St Mary Bishophill Junior. The church of St Paul, Holgate, was built in 1850-1851 by J. B. and W. Atkinson of York and consecrated on 3 Jan 1856. It separated from St Mary Bishophill Junior to form its own parish on 30 Jan 1856 and was declared a rectory in 1866. The church includes a 1951 stained glass window by Harry Stammers.

Between 1902 and 1904 a new church, St Barnabas, was built on Leeman Road as a chapel of ease for St Paul’s parish. It was consecrated in 1904 and separated from St Paul’s in 1912.

An alteration of the boundaries with Acomb, Dringhouses and Holy Trinity Micklegate and the formation of St James the Deacon, Acomb Moor, occurred on the 8th May 1968.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick institute in 1970 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1973, 1981, 1985, 1992, 1996, 1997, 2006, 2007, 2014 and 2016.

Note

The parish of York, St Paul was originally part of the parish of St Mary Bishophill Junior. The church of St Paul, Holgate, was built in 1850-1851 by J. B. and W. Atkinson of York and consecrated on 3 Jan 1856. It separated from St Mary Bishophill Junior to form its own parish on 30 Jan 1856 and was declared a rectory in 1866. The church includes a 1951 stained glass window by Harry Stammers.

Between 1902 and 1904 a new church, St Barnabas, was built on Leeman Road as a chapel of ease for St Paul’s parish. It was consecrated in 1904 and separated from St Paul’s in 1912.

An alteration of the boundaries with Acomb, Dringhouses and Holy Trinity Micklegate and the formation of St James the Deacon, Acomb Moor, occurred on the 8th May 1968.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2016.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1851-1959, and marriages, 1856-1981, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 868-870).

Archivist's Note

Created 10.11.15. Updated to include 2016 accession 23.03.17.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

The parish records of York, St Barnabas are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193