New Earswick Village Council


The New Earswick Village Council first met in 1903 but was not formally constituted until 1907. The first council consisted of eleven members who were elected by male and female householders in the village. Its functions were the management of the Folk Hall, the arrangement of lectures and classes, to make suggestions regarding improvement to the New Earswick estate and its amenities, and to comment on plans for the development of the village. From the 1930s it also administered an annual 'Amenities Grant' on behalf of the JRVT to manage amenities in the village. In 1935 the council played a key role in the extension of the Folk Hall, establishing an Extension Appeal Fund and a Furnishing Fund to raise money for the work.

In 1968 the council was replaced by the New Earswick Village Association.

Additional Information