Records of Ebeneser, Gorseinon

Scope and Content

Records of Ebeneser, Gorseinon, 1899-2004, including annual reports, 1899-2004; minutes, 1965-1975; Baptism register (draft), 1977-1982; commemorative issues of the church magazine, 1959; Marriage registers; Financial records; Membership records; Sunday School records; Band of Hope; Registers of church members and their contributions; Records relating to other areas of church life; Photographs; Other records; Annual reports (continuation).

Administrative / Biographical History

An Independent congregation, associated with Mynydd-bach chapel, Llangyfelach, Glamorgan, began meeting in a house in Loughor, later moving to Rhyd-y-maerdy and building a chapel there in 1815. With the growth of the new town of Gorseinon, Glamorgan, a branch congregation was established there in the 1880s and Ebeneser Chapel was built in 1887 at a cost of £9000. Following the 1904-5 Revival the chapel had become too small for the growing congregation and a new chapel was opened in 1909.


Arranged into the following: annual reports; Chapel jubilee celebrations; minute books; Baptism registers; miscellaneous; annual reports.

Access Information

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.


Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Nonconformists - Independent - Records of Ebeneser, Gorseinon, 1899-2000, catalogue.

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available at West Glamorgan Archive Service.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained


Accruals are not expected

Geographical Names