Records of Ebeneser, Gorseinon, 1899-2004, including annual reports, 1899-2004; minutes, 1965-1975; Baptism register (draft), 1977-1982; commemorative issues of the church magazine, 1959; Marriage registers; Financial records; Membership records; Sunday School records; Band of Hope; Registers of church members and their contributions; Records relating to other areas of church life; Photographs; Other records; Annual reports (continuation).
Records of Ebeneser, Gorseinon
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
An Independent congregation, associated with Mynydd-bach chapel, Llangyfelach, Glamorgan, began meeting in a house in Loughor, later moving to Rhyd-y-maerdy and building a chapel there in 1815. With the growth of the new town of Gorseinon, Glamorgan, a branch congregation was established there in the 1880s and Ebeneser Chapel was built in 1887 at a cost of Â£9000. Following the 1904-5 Revival the chapel had become too small for the growing congregation and a new chapel was opened in 1909.
Arranged into the following: annual reports; Chapel jubilee celebrations; minute books; Baptism registers; miscellaneous; annual reports.
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Nonconformists - Independent - Records of Ebeneser, Gorseinon, 1899-2000, catalogue.
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records have been retained
Accruals are not expected