Records of Ysgol Llwyd Goed, Bryn y Maen

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

The school was opened in 1881 as Llandrillo Llwydgoed Board School.

On 21 March 1997, Ysgol Llwydgoed was closed due to a catastrophic decline in pupils, and the last four children were moved to primary schools in Old Colwyn, Eglwysbach, Llanelian and Bro Cernyw.

The collection has been catalogued in a 'flat' format, not conforming to current archival standards. work to re-arrange and re-number in accordance with ISAD(G) is ongoing.

Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.

Custodial History

Deposited by the school in 1997 upon closure. Earlier records are presumed to be in the care of Denbighshire Archive Service.

Related Material

For photographs see CP15