Pendref Chapel Records

Scope and Content

A collection of letters written to the secretary of Pendref, Mr R. J. Buckland from various correspondents, 1931 - 1935 as well as a file of correspondence relating to the attempt to acquire a pipe organ, 1944 - 1948. Also, miscellaneous papers such as newspaper cuttings and membership certificates.

The second deposit consists of reports and minutes of meetings and a summary of the history of the cause at Pendref.

Administrative / Biographical History

A dispute at Ebenezer Congregational Chapel in Bangor led to the establishment of Pendref Chapel in November 1879. Over a hundred members left Ebenezer Chapel and decided that a new chapel should be built and in June 1882 the opening ceremony was held at Pendref, situated on the High Street in Bangor. By 1913 there were 267 members. Amongst the early ministers of Pendref were Rev. M.O. Evans; Rev. Roland Hughes and Rev. J. Ellis Williams. The current minister of Pendref Chapel is Rev. John Gwilym Jones.


The records were received at two different occasions and have been catalogued separately and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts. There is no apparent system of arrangement.

Access Information

Open to all users.


Description compiled by Elen Wyn Hughes, October 2001.

Other Finding Aids

An item level catalogue is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales Bangor. Reference numbers : General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 16558 - 16580, 17296 - 17298

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.

Custodial History

The first deposit was at one time in the possession of Mr R. J. Buckland, secretary of Pendref Chapel.

Related Material

For further material such as correspondence and a deed of trust of Pendref Chapel, 1881, see Ebenezer Chapel Records and Penrhyn Castle Papers, also held at the Archives Department of the University of Wales Bangor.

Geographical Names