Abergele County School opened in temporary premises in Water Street in 1895; the Rhuddlan Road site opened officially in 1899. The school was renamed Abergele Grammar School in 1945.
The Central School opened in 1938 and became the Secondary Modern School under the 1944 Act and later renamed Ysgol Dinorben in 1949.
The Grammar and Secondary Moderns schools combined in 1967 to form Ysgol Emrys ap Iwan Comprehensive.
This collection includes admissions registers for Abergele County, Abergele Central and Emrys ap Iwan schools. The records for the County School are most extensive and include minutes of governors meetings and photographs.