Time Books and Time Sheets 1914-1924; Register of Workmen 1915
Graig Merthyr Colliery
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Graig Merthyr Colliery was sited near Pontardulais in the Amman Valley. The first pits were sunk during 1873 and is recorded to have been worked by the Graigola Colliery Company by 1913. In 1917 the owners changed their name to the Graigola Merthyr Co. Ltd. and became members of the Monmouthshire and South Wales Coal Owners Association.
On Nationalisation in 1947, Graig Merthyr was placed in the National Coal Board's South Western Division, No. 1 (Swansea) Area, No. 3 (Felinfran) Group. The Colliery was finally closed in June 1978.
Source: Ray Lawrence, The South Wales Coalfield Directory, Vol. 2 (1998 edn), p. 263
Access unrestricted unless stated otherwise.
Other Finding Aids
A hardcopy list is available in the searchroom.
Conditions Governing Use
A photocopying service is available. Contact repository for details.
No publication without written permission from the Archivist.