Vestry, congregational and committee minutes 1894-1966; Church Women's Association minutes 1897-1910; financial records 1881-1965; registers of services (with collections) 1876-1963; papers relating to church fabric and building projects 1881-1927; plans and drawings 1888-1870; miscellaneous papers, mainly legal 1881-1998; papers relating to Rev. R R Lingard-Guthrie and his family 1854-1909; photographs 1880-c.1990.
Records of the Church of the Holy Rood, Carnoustie
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The church began as a Summer Mission in 1864, and became a formal Mission in 1876, meeting in a room lent by Miss Kinloch of Carnoustie House. In 1881 the Church of the Holy Rood was built, and in 1898 the charge was raised to an Incumbency.
Records are arranged chronologically within series.
Conditions Governing Access
Open for consultation subject to preservation requirements. Access must also conform to the restrictions of the Data Protection Act and any other appropriate legislation.
The records were deposited by the church in 1993 (AccM/289A).
Fonds level description compiled by Sarah Chubb, Archives Hub Project Archivist, July 2001.
Other Finding Aids
Descriptive list. Subject source lists and databases are also available.
Alternative Form Available
No known copies.
Conditions Governing Use
Reproduction is available subject to preservation requirements. Charges are made for this service, and copyright and other restrictions may apply.