Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council

Scope and Content

Chief Executives Department; Environment and Consumer Services Department; Education, Leisure and Lifelong Learning Department; Neath Register Office; Electoral Services Department;

Administrative / Biographical History

Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council is the local governing body for Neath Port Talbot. The county borough is divided into 42 electoral wards returning a total of 64 councillors. Some of these wards are coterminous with communities (parishes) of the same name. Each community can have an elected council. There are 19 community councils in the county borough area. Neath Port Talbot was created from the former districts of Neath, Port Talbot and part of Lliw Valley on 1 April 1996.

Access Information

No restrictions

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records received by the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained


Accruals are not expected.