Records of Brynhyfryd Welsh Baptist Church, Swansea

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

History of the church;

Minutes of deacons' meetings and church meetings;

Registers of church members and their contributions (arranged by Sunday School class);

Adroddiadau Blynyddol (annual reports);

Account books;

Photographs;

Brynhyfryd Baptist Church Band of Hope;

Other records

Administrative / Biographical History

The cause began with two attempts by members from respectively Caersalem Newydd and Dinas Noddfa chapels to found Sunday Schools in Brynhyfryd, but without success. A collaborative venture by members of both churches was successful in establishing a Sunday School in 1879 at a place called Y Piler, near Brynhyfryd Square. Once established, the two churches withdrew to allow the formation of a new congregation, which became Brynhyfryd Baptist Church. The chapel building was begun in 1881 and finished in 1883. The church building ceased to be used for worship in 2013.

Arrangement

Aranged by document type

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records received by the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained

Accruals

Accruals are not expected.