Minutes of the Borough Council and committees and its predecessors; clerk's filing, letter books; education filing, letter books, accounts; private street works plans; abstract of accounts.
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 214 BB/C
- Dates of Creation1876-1974
- Name of Creator
- Physical Description227 volumes, 178 paper, 39 paper deeds, 246 bundles, 121 booklets, 13 printed booklets, 733 files, 2 printed volumes, 3 volumes with poor conditions and 2 boxes.
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Barry was incorporated as a municipal borough by royal charter in September 1939. The borough was the successor to Barry and Cadoxton Local Board (1888-1894) and Barry Urban District Council (1894-1939). The area covered by the borough comprised the civil parishes of Barry, Cadoxton-juxta-Barry, Merthyr Dyfan and parts of Penmark, Porthkerry and Sully. The borough was abolished in 1974 and its functions taken over by the Vale of Glamorgan District Council and South Glamorgan County Council. These were replaced by the Vale of Glamorgan Council as unitary local authority
Arranged by department, description and date.
Other Finding Aids
A detailed catalogue is available at Glamorgan Archives.
Conditions Governing Use
Normal Glamorgan Archives conditions apply.
All records which meet the collection policy of Glamorgan Archives have been retained.
Accruals are possible.