Notes on incidents of fires in Newlands Colliery
David Edwards, Colliery Manager, Newlands Colliery, Pyle, Papers
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Newlands Colliery was opened by the Cribbwr Fawr Collieries Limited in 1918, to work various seams under Margam Bay. It consisted of slants and there was also a pit 253 yards deep. By 1923 the Colliery employed 352 men, producing House and Manufacturing coal from the Cribbwr Fawr seam. By 1938 the workforce had grown to a total of 812 men, working coking coal from the Slatog, Six Feet, South Fawr and Drydydd seams. In 1945 Newlands employed 637 men and a new upcast shaft was driven by the National Coal Board in 1951, although the colliery suffered continually with water problems. Newlands Colliery closed in 1968
David Edwards was a Manager at Newlands Colliery
Order at time of deposit retained.
Conditions Governing Access
Donated by a private individual, June 2018
Other Finding Aids
A detailed catalogue is available
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Compiled by H Thomas for Glamorgan Archives, with reference to the Welsh Coal Mines website (http://www.welshcoalmines.co.uk/GlamWest/newlands.htm) viewed 9 Jul 2018
Conditions Governing Use
Normal Glamorgan Archives conditions apply.
All records which meet the collection policy of Glamorgan Archives have been retained.
Records passed from Mr Edwards to a family member and subsequently transferred to Glamorgan Archives
Accruals are possible