Records relating to the City and Guilds of London Institute (C&GLI), notably articles about the history of the Institute, 1896-1965, address by Sir John Wolfe Barry, 1903, centenary handbook, 1978, annual reports, 1880-1997, reports of the Executive Committee, 1878, and of the Livery Companies Committee, on technical education, 1878, Memorandum of Association, and ordinances, 1880-1910, correspondence with Imperial College, 1909-1921, 1946-1961, correspondence of the Registrar, 1922-1952, lists of Fellows, [1892-1988], scholarships, 1897.
City and Guilds of London Institute
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 98 F
- Dates of Creation1878-1997
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description2 boxes
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The City and Guilds of London Institute (C&GLI) for the Advancement of Technical Education has its origins in a meeting in 1876, when the livery companies agreed to create a Central Institution in London to improve the training of craftsmen. As it proved difficult to find a site for the planned Central Institution, Finsbury Technical College was established in 1878 in Cowper Street. The Central Institution opened in 1884, in a purpose designed building in South Kensington. It became known as the City and Guilds College after its full incorporation into Imperial College in 1910. An important objective of the C&GLI was to conduct a system of qualifying examinations in technical subjects. This was done in 1879, when the system established by the Society of Arts in 1873 was taken over by the C&GLI. The C&GLI was incorporated in 1880 and received a Royal Charter in 1900.
Researchers wishing to consult the Archives should first contact the College Archivist, Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine, Exhibition Road, London SW7 2AZ, for an appointment.
Records were transferred from several sources, including the Chemical Engineering Department, the Mechanical Engineering Department, and the City and Guilds Registry.
Other Finding Aids
A catalogue is available in the reading room of the College Archives.
Pupil and administrative records of the City and Guilds of London Institute, 1878-1943, held at the Guildhall Library, Manuscripts Section.
Conditions Governing Use
A photocopying service is available at the discretion of the Archivist. Photocopies are supplied for research use only. Requests to publish original material should be submitted to the Archivist.