Registers (including service and banns registers) 1703-1988; licences 1859-1868; Churchwardens' accounts and correspondence 1882-1942; papers relating to church buildings 1887-1954; Vestry minutes 1773-1815; Highway rates 1859; papers relating to church school 1856-1947; church histories 1963 and c. 2001.
Llangiwg Ecclesiastical Parish Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Dedicated to St Ciwg. Ancient parish, out of which was created the parish of Ystalyfera (q.v.) in 1911. Includes St Peter's, Pontardawe (built 1858-1862 by William Parsons, and consecrated 1862) and St Mary's, Ynysmeudwy (built 1913, sponsored originally by Mrs Illtyd Thomas of Glanmor, Swansea, and finished by her daughter, Mrs F. W. Gilbertson). All Saints, Pontardawe, originally built by Arthur Gilbertson in memory of his father William as a chapel of ease in the parish of St John, Clydach in 1886, was transferred to Llangiwg parish in 1903.
Conditions Governing Access
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following source was used to compile this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Ecclesiastical Parishes, catalogue.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained.
Accruals are possible