Parish records of Thornton le Clay

Scope and Content

Enclosure award, 1778.

Administrative / Biographical History

The existence of a church at Foston was recorded in Domesday in the eleventh century. The advowson was granted to St Mary’s Abbey, York, at an early date, and they retained it until the Dissolution of the Monasteries when it passed to the Crown. In 1898 the advowson was transferred to the see of York.

The parish church is dedicated to All Saints and dates from the first half of the twelfth century, with further additions made in the thirteenth. It was restored and expanded in 1911.

The parish historically included Flaxton and Thornton le Clay. A chapel of ease existed at Thornton in the sixteenth and seventeenth century, dedicated to St Mary, but has since been lost. In 1861 Flaxton separated from Foston to form a new parish, which included parts of neighbouring Bossall.

Today Foston, which still includes Thornton le Clay, is one of eight parishes within the united benefice of Harton.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The item was transferred to the Borthwick Institute from the Diocesan Registry at an unknown date.

Note

The existence of a church at Foston was recorded in Domesday in the eleventh century. The advowson was granted to St Mary’s Abbey, York, at an early date, and they retained it until the Dissolution of the Monasteries when it passed to the Crown. In 1898 the advowson was transferred to the see of York.

The parish church is dedicated to All Saints and dates from the first half of the twelfth century, with further additions made in the thirteenth. It was restored and expanded in 1911.

The parish historically included Flaxton and Thornton le Clay. A chapel of ease existed at Thornton in the sixteenth and seventeenth century, dedicated to St Mary, but has since been lost. In 1861 Flaxton separated from Foston to form a new parish, which included parts of neighbouring Bossall.

Today Foston, which still includes Thornton le Clay, is one of eight parishes within the united benefice of Harton.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, marriages and burials for Foston and Thornton le Clay, 1588-1885, and banns, 1869-1900, are available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 686, 1761).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 14.03.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are not expected.

Related Material

For registers of baptisms, marriages and burials, and other parish records relating to Thornton le Clay, see the parish records of Foston.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193