Embroiderers' Guild

Scope and Content

Letter from Perowne, Gedge and Company, Solicitors, to Royal Asiatic Society, to inform the Society that the Embroiderers' Guild had just entered into a contract for purchase of their own property and therefore would be vacating the rooms at 56 Queen Anne Street. Dated 7 April, 1950.
Also a print block for an advertisement for the for "Exhibition of Embroidery Then & Now" 1959 for the Embroiderers' Guild Expansion Fund to be held at the Old Knoll, Eliot Hill, Lewisham. The exhibition was being held by the kind invitation of Dr and Mrs J.E. Stokes, presumably the then inhabitants, and to be opened by Wingfield-Digby, Keeper of Textile Department at the V&A.

Geographical Names