Tylorstown Ecclesiastical Parish Records

Scope and Content

Tylorstown Ecclesiastical parish records including registers of marriages, 1906-1996

Administrative / Biographical History

The parish of Tylorstown was formed in 1887 with Maerdy and Ferndale but these were separated in 1900 to form their own parishes. The main church of the Holy Trinity was erected in 1883 and its registers are recorded in 1920 as dating from 1887. The church of St Mary Magdalene was erected at Pont-y-Gwaith in 1896.

Arrangement

Tylorstown Ecclesiastical parish records arranged by item

Conditions Governing Access

No Restrictions

Acquisition Information

Deposited by the incumbent, 2001

Other Finding Aids

Handlist available at the Glamorgan Record Office

Alternative Form Available

Originals held at the Glamorgan Record Office

Archivist's Note

Compiled by Annabel Wickham for the ANW Project; Sources used: Glamorgan Record Office finding aids; Williams and Watts-Williams, Confrestri Plwyf Cymru/Parish Registers of Wales, (Aberystwyth, 2000); www.churchinwales.org.uk

Conditions Governing Use

Normal Glamorgan Record Office conditions apply

Appraisal Information

All records offered have been accepted and listed

Accruals

Accruals are possible

Location of Originals

Originals held at the Glamorgan Record Office