The collection contains the correspondence of George H. Allsworth, Director of Beardmore Motors, with Stanley Sedgwick and Lord Montagu, as well as scrapbooks of newspaper cuttings relating to Beardmore Motors.
Beardmore Motors Collection
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Beardmore taxis were first produced by the original Scottish engineering concern, William Beardmore & Co, in 1919. This was the first new post-war taxi and fitted with Beardmore's own 15.6hp engine. Due to its comfort and sturdiness, it became known as the "Rolls Royce of cabs". Production by the independent concern of the same name began at Grove Park, Hendon, in 1932, continuing until 1940 when the site at Hendon was converted to war production. Manufacture of Beardmore taxis (no longer at Hendon) was resumed in 1954.The firm went into voluntary liquidation in July 1969.
The Firm's offices and showrooms in Great Portland Street were severely damaged by enemy action in September 1940 and most of their records destroyed.
Beardmore produced a new cab in 1954 but could not compete with the power of Austin who were also making taxis at this time. This latest MkVII version did not sell well and the firm ended production in 1967.
Open to researchers, by appointment. For further information, please see: nationalmotormuseum.org.uk/Motoring_research_service
Conditions Governing Use
Please apply to the Archivist if you would like to make any copy of the material.
Received in 1970 from the company, after the ending of production in 1967.According to a letter from the Historical Manuscripts Commission National Register of Archives, dated 1971, the material was retained or collected by Beardmore Motors Ltd, and on liquidation the bulk of the papers were transferred by the former sales manager to his private address in Barnet, and some catalogues were given to Mr. W. Boddy (former Editor, Motor Sport). However, it is understood that subsequently the bulk of the material held by the former sales manager, including the scrapbooks and photographs, was deposited in the National Motor Museum.